What Does Justice Ask of Us? What Does God?

April 19, 2015

On AFSC’s Acting in Faith blog this morning is a piece I wrote about the the recent controversy over a religious freedom law in Indiana. Here’s how it begins:

“Always do the right thing as you know it.” I wrote that on an index card for my young son a few years ago. It is one of three. The other two, still on his mirror, read “Always tell the truth” and “Always be kind.” These are simple urgings for me, as well; I believe they are part of what God asks of me.

But what happens when what I think is right conflicts with what someone else thinks is right? The eruption of controversy over religious liberty in Indiana and Arkansas puts that question on my mind.

Read more here.

penn_trial

About Doug Bennett

Doug Bennett is Emeritus President and Professor of Politics at Earlham College. He has a wife, Ellen, and two sons, Tommy (born 1984) and Robbie (born 2003).
This entry was posted in Beliefs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

